Boileau wins Stage 2 of Tour du Rwanda

3 May 2021 at 18:56  

Alan Boileau, 21, from B&B HOTEL p/b KTM won the 120.5 KM 2nd stage of Tour du Rwanda with 3:07:14, to become the first French to win a stage of Tour du Rwanda since Trouche Benjamin (Stage 3) in November 2010.

This was his first professional stage win under UCI accredited race.

The stage two from Kigali - Huye had four categorized climbs and two intermediate sprints en route.

Into the 5KM, we already had 3 men in the breakaway. They included Jean Bosco Nsengimana Jean Bosco (Team Rwanda), Tewelde Mehari (Eritrea) and Eric Manizabayo (Benediction Ignite).

The trio would go on to keep the lead and sweep the stage intermediate sprints and mountain classification before they were pulled by back the peloton into the second hour of the race at 68KM.

Boileau showed signs of intent early in the race when he and Valentin Ferron (Total-Direct Energie) launched an attack on the 77KM mark, going ahead of the peloton 18 seconds.

He would go on to maintain the lead going into the final 5KM before dashing to the finish line all but alone, with his closest opponent closing the line 3 seconds later.

Umba Santiago Lopez of Androni Sidermec finished 2nd and took a 2-seconds lead to his countryman Sanchez Brayan, consequently claiming coveted Yellow Jersey.

Umba is the 25th rider to wear the coveted jersey of Tour du Rwanda. The first-ever Tour du Rwanda was worn by Jelloul Adil wore on 16th Nov 2009.

Uhiriwe Byiza Renus is the only Rwandan in the top 10 of the General classification after Stage two.

Stage 3 will start from Nyanza, in Rwanda’s Southern Province and finish in Gicumbi, Northern Province, covering 171.6KM. It is the longest stage in the 2021 race of Tour du Rwanda.

This route will also be auditioning the Tour du Rwanda.

Meanwhile, Tour du Rwanda 2018 Champion, Areruya Joseph abandoned the race due to illness.

Mountain Classification

1. Manizabyo Eric (Benediction Ignite) 11pts

2. Nsengimana Jean Bosco (Team Rwanda) 9pts

3. Quintero Norena Carlos Julian (Terengganu Cycling) 3pts

Points Classifications (Sprint)

1. Teugels Lennert (Tarteletto - Isorex) 6pts

2. Suaza Arango Bernardo Albeiro (Team Medellin) 6pts

3. Manizabayo Eric (Benediction Egnite) 4pts

Best Young Rider

Umba LOPEZ Abner Santiago (Androni Sidermec)

Classification Best African

KIPKEMBOI Salim ( Kenya / Bike Aid )

Team Classification

1. Androni Sidermec 17h03’13’’

2. Bike Aid +02"

3. Team Total Direct Energie 02"